EDI Committee


By the 2017 Plan of Organization of the Department of Astronomy, the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee responsibilities include but are not limited to:

  • Recommending initiatives to raise awareness of issues related to inclusion and diversity in astronomy and related fields.
  • Recommending actions the Department can take to broaden participation of under-represented groups in the field
  • Identifying presenters for regular seminars on related topics.

The Committee is annually appointed by the Department Chair and shall include representation from Tenured/Tenure-track faculty, Professional Track faculty, staff, and graduate and undergraduate students.


Member Title Contact Page
Stuart Vogel Chair, Faculty Dept Page
Milena Crnogorevic Grad Student Dept Page
Junellie Gonzalez Undergrad Student Directory Page
Barbara Hansborough Staff Dept Page
Claire Hinrichs Undergrad Student Directory Page
Tess Jaffe Faculty (GSFC) Res Sci Dept Page
Ramsey Karim Grad Student Dept Page
Mike Kelly Faculty Res Sci Dept Page
Eliza Kempton Faculty Dept Page
Kris Laferriere Undergrad Student Directory Page
Laura Lenkic Grad Student Dept Page
Alyssa Pagan Staff Dept Page
Geoff Ryan Faculty Dept Page
Marcia Segura Faculty (GSFC) specialist Dept Page
Liz Tarantino Grad Student Dept Page
Teal Grad Student Dept Page
Jessica Wood Undergrad Student Directory Page

EDI Initiatives Underway

EDI Intiatives and Accomplishments 2017-2018.pdf

Make a Suggestion