John Chi-Lin Wang Award for Academic Excellence

The John Chi-Lin Wang Award for Academic Excellence is awarded each fall during the Department Assembly to the third-year graduate student with the best overall performance in course grades, second year research project, and qualifying exam. No application is necessary, and selection is made by the Department's professorial faculty. The selected candidate receives a $1000 award. (The award is sometimes split when two or more candidates are equally deserving.)

Professor John C.-L. Wang joined the Department in 1994 and passed away on August 9, 1998, at the age of 38. Prof. Wang contributed greatly to our department on a personal and a professional level. He took a special interest in undergraduate curriculum development, and his theoretical work paved the way for new discoveries in the field of high energy astrophysics. For more information, Prof. Wang's obituary is available online. Major donors for the Wang Award fund include Henry C.-Y. Wang, Helen P.-C. Wang, Jerry C.-L. Wang, and Athena L.-Y. Wang.

Award Winners

  • 1999: Woong-Tae Kim
  • 2000: Yuxuan Yang
  • 2001: Jianyang Li
  • 2002: Ke Zhang
  • 2003: Zoe Leinhardt
  • 2004: Laura Brenneman
  • 2005: Catherine McGleam & Lisa Winter
  • 2006: Lisa Wei
  • 2007: Daniel Jontof-Hutter
  • 2008: Edmund Hodges-Kluck
  • 2009: Hannah Krug & Michael McDonald
  • 2010: Shaye Storm
  • 2011: Jessica Donaldson
  • 2012: Thomas Shimizu
  • 2013: Ron Ballouz & Krista Smith
  • 2014: Qian Wang
  • 2015: Tzu-Yu Hung
  • 2016: Pradip Gatkine
  • 2016-2017: Matthew Varakian
  • 2017-2018: Weizhe Liu
  • 2018-2019: Harrison Agrusa