March 2013

Issue 54


MEETING Cosmic Dust VI

VENUE: CPS (Center for Planetary Science), Kobe, JAPAN
DATE: Monday, August 5 - Friday, August 9, 2013

OBJECTIVES: This series of Cosmic Dust meetings aims at finding a consensus among experts on the formation and evolution of cosmic dust: where it comes from and where it goes. The meeting is organized by dust freaks who are very enthusiastic not only to make the goal achievable but also to establish a dust community across every scientifically relevant discipline for the development of cosmic dust research. For this reason, the primary objectives of the meeting are to bring together professionals who deal with cosmic dust and to provide an opportunity for participants to develop human relations and interactions between the participants.

SCOPE: All kinds of cosmic dust such as
- intergalactic dust
- interstellar dust
- protoplanetary disk dust
- debris disk dust
- cometary dust
- asteroidal dust
- interplanetary dust
- circumplanetary dust
- stellar nebular condensates
- presolar grains
- micrometeorites
- meteoroids
- meteors
- regolith particles
- planetary aerosols
are the subject of discussion. The meeting is open for any aspects of dust research by means of different methods of studies (in-situ and laboratory measurements, astronomical observations, laboratory and numerical analogue simulations, theoretical modeling, data analyses, etc.). All dust-related topics, for example, the formation of molecules and their reactions on and their desorption from the surface of dust particles, are also welcome. Publishing the proceedings of this meeting is currently being planned as a special issue of a peer-reviewed journal, while paper submission to the proceedings is not obligatory.

ADMISSIONS APPLICATION: Please complete online meeting application at the CPS website in order to attend the meeting (deadline: May 13, 2013, 11:59 p.m. Japan Standard Time). Because the number of participants shall be limited, the online application does not guarantee admission to the meeting. Participants will be determined at the discretion of the SOC and all applicants will be notified of the admissions decision by May 31, 2013. Priority will be given to those who contribute to oral or poster sessions and retain enthusiasm for discussions throughout the meeting. For further details, please visit the Cosmic Dust website.

REGISTRATION FEE: While no payment is required at the time of admissions application and abstract submission, a registration fee of 10,000 JPY should be paid by cash on arrival at the venue. No matter what circumstances are specified, the registration fee will not be waived.

13 May 2013, Deadline for Admissions Application
31 May 2013, Notification of Admissions Decision

Akio Inoue (Osaka Sangyo University, Japan)
Cornelia Jaeger (Friedrich Schiller University, Germany)
Hiroshi Kimura (CPS, Japan) [Chair]
Ludmilla Kolokolova (University of Maryland, USA)
Aigen Li (University of Missouri-Columbia, USA)

Hiroki Chihara (Kyoto University)
Akio Inoue (Osaka Sangyo University)
Hiroshi Kimura (CPS) [Chair]
Hiroshi Kobayashi (Nagoya University)
Hiroki Senshu (Chitec/PERC)
Takashi Shimonishi (Kobe University)
Koji Wada (Chitec/PERC)
Daisuke Yamasawa (Hokkaido University)


Hiroshi Kimura <>
Center for Planetary Science (CPS)
Chuo-ku Minatojima Minamimachi 7-1-48
Kobe 650-0047, Japan
Fax: +81 78 599 6735

BRIEF HISTORY: The Cosmic Dust meeting started in 2006 as a session called Cosmic Dust of the 3rd AOGS (Asia-Oceania Geoscience Society) annual meeting in Singapore. Dust freaks have kept on organizing the session at subsequent AOGS meetings in Korea (2008), India (2010), and Taiwan (2011). The Cosmic Dust series has been recognized as the most successful session of the AOGS Planetary Sciences Section. In 2012, the time was ripe to be free from organizing restrictions on the AOGS meeting. From that time on, the Cosmic Dust meeting is totally independent of any international conference. The past meetings on Cosmic Dust have been held in a relaxed and joyful atmosphere. So will be the coming one!


Symposium Light Scattering: Simulation and inversion


University of Bremen, Bremen, 27. + 28. May 2013


Call for papers []



-Light scattering theory

-Inverse theory

-Multiple scattering

-Characterization methods

-Particle surface scattering interaction


Time table

Start at 13.00 on Monday 27.5.2013

End at 17.00 on Tuesday 28.5.2013


Duration for talks 20 mins + 10 mins discussion


Venue: Bremer Institut fuer Messtechnik,

Automatisierung und Qualitätswissenschaft (BIMAQ) []

Room 2070

Linzer Strasse 13

28359 Bremen



Fee: There will be no fee.


Organizing Committee

Armin Lechleiter, ZeTeM, Inverse Problems [], University of Bremen

Angelika Bunse-Gerstner, ZeTeM, Numerics [], University of Bremen

Lutz Maedler, Process & Chemical Engineering [], University of Bremen

Gert Goch, Institute for Metrology, Automation and Quality Science [], University of Bremen

Andreas Tausendfreund, Institute for Metrology, Automation and Quality Science [], University of Bremen

Thomas Wriedt, Process & Chemical Engineering [], Institut fuer Werkstofftechnik, Bremen, Germany


G. G. Stokes Award ( )

The G. G. Stokes Award is given annually for exceptional contribution to the field of optical polarization. The award may be presented for a specific achievement, development, or invention of significant importance to optical science and society, or may be given for lifetime achievement. Honorarium $2,000, sponsored by ITT Industries, Hinds Instruments, Meadowlark Optics, L3 Communications, Polaris Sensor Technologies, and individual contributions from Russell Chipman.


Awardee -2013: Jose Jorge Gil, University of Zaragoza, Zaragoza, Spain, is the 2013 recipient of the G.G. Stokes Award in recognition of his groundbreaking collection of rigorous mathematical descriptions of polarization that are used widely to interpret experimental data.  His work in polarization optics is a pivotal collection of contributions that form part of the underpinnings of modern polarimetry. Professor Gil has also made important early contributions to experimental polarimetry through the design of Mueller polarimeters. A strong experimental awareness has led to his rigorous and groundbreaking theoretical work being readily used in numerous polarization applications.


Previous Recipients of the G. G. Stokes Award

2012 - Jan Olof Stenflo
2011 - Johannes Fitzgerald de Boer
2010 - Emil Wolf
2008 - Shin-Tson Wu
2007 - Russell Chipman
2006 - Kazuhiko Oka
2005 - Rasheed M. A. Azzam
2004 - R. Clark Jones