ASTR100 LECTURE SCHEDULE

Lecture Date
Lecture Topic
Reading
Wed. Sep. 1 Syllabus, Educational Survey Preface, Introduction
Fri. Sep. 3 Introduction, The Scale of the Universe Introduction, Overview 1
Mon. Sep. 6 LABOR DAY HOLIDAY!
Wed. Sep. 8 Apparent Motions of the Sun and Stars Chapter 1, Essay 1
Fri. Sep. 10 Motion of the Moon Chapter 1
Mon. Sep. 13 Early Ideas of the Heavens Chapter 1
Wed. Sep. 15 The Heliocentric Universe Chapter 1
Fri. Sep. 17 Planetary Motion: Kepler's Laws Chapter 1
Mon. Sep. 20 Newton's Laws of Motion Chapter 1
Wed. Sep. 22 Universal Gravitation Overview 2, Chapter 2
Fri. Sep. 24 Interior of Earth Overview 3, Chapter 4
Mon. Sep. 27 Atmosphere of Earth Chapter 4
Wed. Sep. 29 The Moon Chapter 6
Fri. Oct. 1 Components of the Solar System Chapter 7
Mon. Oct. 4 Origin of the Solar System Chapter 7
Wed. Oct. 6 Terrestrial Planets Chapter 8
Fri. Oct. 8 Terrestrial Planets Chapter 8
Mon. Oct. 11 Terrestrial Planets & Jupiter Chapters 8,9
Wed. Oct. 13 Jupiter & Saturn Chapter 9
Fri. Oct. 15 Uranus, Neptune, & Pluto Chapter 9
Mon. Oct. 18 EXAM I Introduction, Chapters 1, 2, 4, 6-8, Essay 1, Overviews 1-3
Wed. Oct. 20 Asteroids: Vermin of the Sky Chapter 10
Fri. Oct. 22 Comets: Messengers from Beyond Pluto Chapter 10
Mon. Oct. 25 The Electromagnetic Spectrum Chapter 3
Wed. Oct. 27 Black Body Radiation Chapter 3
Fri. Oct. 29 Formation of Spectra Chapter 3
Mon. Nov. 1 The Doppler Effect Chapter 3
Wed. Nov. 3 Telescopes, Instruments, and Time Chapter 5, Essay 2
Fri. Nov. 5 Properties of the Sun, Our Star Overview 5, Chapter 11
Mon. Nov. 8 How the Sun Works Chapter 11
Wed. Nov. 10 The Magnetic Sun Chapter 11
Fri. Nov. 12 EXAM II Chapters 3, 5, 9-11, Essay 2, Overviews 4,5
Mon. Nov. 15 Properties of Stars Chapter 12
Wed. Nov. 17 What Starlight Tells Us Chapter 12
Fri. Nov. 19 The Hertzsprung-Russell (HR) Diagram Chapter 12
Mon. Nov. 22 A Star's Life: Early & Late Stages Chapter 13
Wed. Nov. 24 End States of a Star's Life Chapter 14
Fri. Nov. 26 THANKSGIVING VACATION!
Mon. Nov. 29 Our Milky Way Galaxy Overview 6, Chapter 15
Wed. Dec. 1 Our Milky Way Galaxy Chapter 15
Fri. Dec. 3 Properties of Normal Galaxies Chapter 16
Mon. Dec. 6 Active Galaxies Chapter 16
Wed. Dec. 8 Structure of our Universe Chapters 16,17
Fri. Dec. 10 Fate of Our Universe Chapter 17
Mon. Dec. 13 Birth of Our Universe Chapter 17
Fri. Dec. 17 FINAL EXAM (1:30pm-3:30pm) Introduction, Chapters 1-17, Essays 1-2, Overviews 1-6

Return to ASTR100 Home Page

Last Modified: Mon Aug 30 16:39:27