Astro 310: Fall 2008
Cave stellarum observatorem!

Astro 310: Fall 2008 Observing Information

Observing for Lab 2 is OVER. We are now starting Lab 3

There will be NO observing tonight, Wednesday, November 19, 2008. (Updates usually between 5pm and 6pm.)

Please sign up for at least two possible nights, two groups per night, by emailing me (hsheets) AND Prof. Bolatto (bolatto), both at astro.umd.edu. Include us BOTH on the email!

We will be using two telescopes for this lab, so two groups CAN come at one time.

Check back to see if unavailable slots open up as groups complete the lab. If you are signed up for a night, and I decide there WILL BE observing, you MUST come. If you need to cancel for a night, please notify me at least 24 hours in advance so others have the chance to take the slot.

The slots are:

Thursday, November 6
Friday, November 7: Jason, Geoff, William, Ricky

Sunday, November 9:
Monday, November 10:
Tuesday, November 11:
Group 1: Adam, Carolyn, Cathy
Group 2: Val, Shushanta, Sean, Stacy
Wednesday, November 12:
Group 1: Jaime, Will, Daniel
Group 2: Val, Shushanta, Sean, Stacy
Alternate: Erin, Kate, Lauren, Matt

Monday, November 17:
Group 1: Adam, Carolyn, Cathy
Group 2: Erin, Kate, Lauren, Matt
Tuesday, November 18:
Group 1: Adam, Carolyn, Cathy
Group 2: Ian, Eran, Josh
Wednesday, November 19:
Group 1: Jaime, Will, Daniel
Group 2: Erin, Kate, Lauren, Matt
Alternate: Val, Shushanta, Sean, Stacy
Friday, November 21:
Group 1: Val, Shushanta, Sean, Stacy

Monday, November 24:
Group 1: Erin, Kate, Lauren, Matt
Tuesday, November 25:

Globular Cluster M4

Globular Cluster M4, by HST

I will make the decision whether there will be observing each night and post it above, but to give you an idea of whether it will happen or not, check the clear sky clock. Pay close attention to the row of boxes marked "Cloud Cover". They're marked off in hours (across the top, on the 24 hr system, local time). The bluer the box is, the clearer the sky will be.