ASTR100 LECTURE SCHEDULE

Lecture Date
Lecture Topic
Reading
Wed. Aug 30 Syllabus, Educational Survey Preface, Introduction
Fri. Sep. 1 Introduction, The Scale of the Universe Introduction, Overview 1
Mon. Sep. 4 LABOR DAY
Wed. Sep. 6 Apparent Motions of the Sun and Stars Chapter 1, Essay 1
Fri. Sep. 8 Motion of the Moon Chapter 1
Mon. Sep. 11 Early Ideas of the Heavens Chapter 1
Wed. Sep. 13 The Heliocentric Universe Chapter 1
Fri. Sep. 15 Planetary Motion: Kepler's Laws Chapter 1
Mon. Sep. 18 Newton's Laws of Motion Chapter 1
Wed. Sep. 20 Universal Gravitation Overview 2, Chapter 2
Fri. Sep. 22 Interior of Earth Overview 3, Chapter 4
Mon. Sep. 25 Atmosphere of Earth Chapter 4
Wed. Sep. 27 The Moon Chapter 6
Fri. Sep. 29 The Solar System: Origin and Components Chapter 7
Mon. Oct. 2 Terrestrial Planets Chapter 8
Wed. Oct. 4 Terrestrial Planets Chapter 8
Fri. Oct. 6 Terrestrial Planets & Jupiter Chapters 8,9
Mon. Oct. 9 Jupiter & Saturn Chapter 9
Wed. Oct. 11 Uranus, Neptune, & Pluto Chapter 9
Fri. Oct. 13 EXAM I Introduction, Chapters 1, 2, 4, 6-8, Essay 1, Overviews 1-3
Mon. Oct. 16 Debris in the Solar System Chapter 10
Wed. Oct. 18 The Electromagnetic Spectrum Chapter 3
Fri. Oct. 20 Black Body Radiation Chapter 3
Mon. Oct. 23 Formation of Spectra Chapter 3
Wed. Oct. 25 The Doppler Effect Chapter 3
Fri. Oct. 27 Telescopes, Instruments, and Time Chapter 5, Essay 2
Mon. Oct. 30 Properties of the Sun, Our Star Overview 5, Chapter 11
Wed. Nov. 1 How the Sun Works Chapter 11
Fri. Nov. 3 The Magnetic Sun Chapter 11
Mon. Nov. 6 Properties of Stars Chapter 12
Wed. Nov. 8 The Hertzsprung-Russell (HR) Diagram Chapter 12
Fri. Nov. 10 EXAM II Chapters 3, 5, 9-11, Essay 2, Overviews 4,5
Mon. Nov. 13 A Star's Life: Early & Late Stages Chapter 13
Wed. Nov. 15 End States of a Star's Life Chapter 14
Fri. Nov. 17 Our Milky Way Galaxy Overview 6, Chapter 15
Mon. Nov. 20 Our Milky Way Galaxy Chapter 15
Wed. Nov. 22 Properties of Normal Galaxies Chapter 16
Fri. Nov. 24 THANKSGIVING
Mon. Nov. 27 Active Galaxies Chapter 16
Wed. Nov. 29 Galaxy Clustering Chapter 16
Fri. Dec. 1 Structure of our Universe Chapters 16,17
Mon. Dec. 4 Fate of Our Universe Chapter 17
Wed. Dec. 6 Birth of Our Universe Chapter 17
Fri. Dec. 8 Great Unanswered Questions Chapter 17 and beyond...
Mon. Dec. 11 Review Session Introduction, Chapters 1-17, Essays 1-2, Overviews 1-6
Fri. Dec. 15 FINAL EXAM (1:30 pm - 3:30 pm) Introduction, Chapters 1-17, Essays 1-2, Overviews 1-6

Return to ASTR100 Home Page

Last Modified: Mon Aug 30 16:39:27