ASTR100 LECTURE SCHEDULE

Lecture Date
Lecture Topic
Reading
Homework
Tue. Jan. 26 Syllabus, The Scale of the Universe --- CANCELLED DUE to BLIZZARD 2016! ---
Thu. Jan. 28 Introduction, The Scale of the Universe Syllabus, Units 1, 2, 3, 4.1
Tue. Feb. 2 Motions of the Earth and the Moon Units 5, 6, 7, 8
Thu. Feb. 4 Early Ideas of the Heavens and the Heliocentric Universe Units 10, 11
Tue. Feb. 9 Kepler's Laws, Galileo, Newton's Laws Units 12, 14, 15
Thu. Feb. 11 Universal Gravitation and Orbital Motion Units 16, 17, 18
Tue. Feb. 16 The Solar System and Other Planetary Systems -- CANCELLED Units 34, 35, 20, 36
Thu. Feb. 18 The Solar System and Other Planetary Systems Units 34, 35, 20, 36 HW#1 Due
Tue. Feb. 23 The Earth Units 37, 38
Thu. Feb. 25 The Moon Units 39, 19
Tue. Mar. 1 Terrestrial Planets Units 40, 41, 42, 44
Thu. Mar. 3 Jovian Planets Units 44, 45, 46, 47 HW#2 Due
Tue. Mar. 8 Pluto & Debris in the Solar System Units 43, 48, 49, 50
Thu. Mar. 10 EXAM I Units 1-4.1, 5-8, 10-12, 14-20, 34-42, 44-47 Exam Day
Tue. Mar. 15 --- SPRING BREAK --- ---
Thu. Mar. 17 --- SPRING BREAK --- ---
Tue. Mar. 22 The Electromagnetic Spectrum, Black Body Radiation Units 21.1, 22, 23
Thu. Mar. 24 Formation of Spectra, The Doppler Effect Units 4.2, 21, 24, 25 HW#3 Due
Tue. Mar. 29 Astronomical Telescopes, Effects of Earth's Atmosphere Units 28, 29, 30, 31, 32
Thu. Mar. 31 The Sun, Our Star Units 51, 52, 53
Tue. Apr. 5 Other Stars Units 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 70
Thu. Apr. 7 A Star's Life: Early & Late Stages Units 60, 61, 62 HW#4 Due
Tue. Apr. 12 End States of a Star's Life Units 65, 66, 67, 68, 69
Thu. Apr. 14 EXAM II Units 4.2, 21-25, 28-32, 43, 48-62, 65-70
Tue. Apr. 19 Our Milky Way Galaxy Units 71, 72, 73, 74
Thu. Apr. 21 Properties of Normal Galaxies Units 75, 76 HW#5 Due
Tue. Apr. 26 Active Galaxies Unit 78
Thu. Apr. 28 Galaxy Clustering, Dark Matter Units 77, 79
Tue. May 3 Cosmology: Expansion and Birth of Our Universe Units 80, 81, 82, 83, 84
Thu. May 5 Cosmology: Fate of our Universe, Great Unanswered Questions Units 80, 81, 82, 83, 84 HW#6 Due
Tue. May 10 Search for Intelligent Life in the Universe Units 85, 86
Tue. May 10 Review Session (6:00 - 8:00 pm) Units 1-4.2, 5-8, 10-12, 14-25, 28-32, 34-62, 65-86 PHYS 1412
Fri. May 13 FINAL EXAM (8:00 - 10:00 am) Units 1-4.2, 5-8, 10-12, 14-25, 28-32, 34-62, 65-86 PHYS 1412

Return to ASTR100 Home Page

Last Modified: Mon Aug 30 16:39:27