Early Career Research Scientist Prize for Excellence

The Early Career Research Scientist Prize for Excellence was established by the Department of Astronomy to honor outstanding early-career scholars. To be eligible, candidates must currently hold the rank of Assistant Research Scientist/Professor/Engineer and must have worked in the department for two or more years. (Winners are not eligible again for consideration until six years have passed.) Selection is made in May by a committee drawn from the department's diverse membership, and the winner is announced at the department's End of the Year Celebration in June. The selected candidate receives a $500 award.

Nominations may be as short as a paragraph of justification, and they may be sent anytime during the year. Please place the nominee's name in the subject line. Send your nominations to prize@astro.umd.edu today!

Prize Winners

  • 2012/13: Michael S. Kelley
  • 2013/14: Francesco Tombesi
  • 2015/16: Silvia Protopapa
  • 2016/17: Valeria Cottini
  • 2017/18: Eleonora Troja
  • 2018/19: Tracy Huard