Postdoctoral Scientist Prize for Excellence

The Postdoctoral Scientist Prize for Excellence was established by the Department of Astronomy to honor outstanding postdoctoral scholars. Eligible candidates include both traditional 2-3 year postdocs and recipients of fellowships such as Hubble, Einstein, CTC, etc. Selection is made in May by a committee drawn from the department's diverse membership, and the winner is announced at the department's End of the Year Celebration in June. The selected candidate receives a $500 award.

Nominations may be as short as a paragraph of justification, and they may be sent anytime during the year. Please place the nominee's name in the subject line. Send your nominations to today!

Prize Winners

  • 2012/13: Silvia Protopapa
  • 2015/16: Laura Blecha & Marcio Melendez
  • 2016/17: Erin Kara
  • 2017/18: Nathaniel Roth
  • 2018/19: Geoffrey Ryan