Awards Won by UM Astronomers

This page lists people currently in the Department of Astronomy and Graduates of the Department of Astronomy who have won any of the awards, medals, or honors described on the associated web pages.

Current Faculty (including emeriti)

  • Alberto Bolatto
  • L. Drake Deming
  • Suvi Gezari
    • NSF Early CAREER Award, 2015
    • Board of Visitors Junior Faculty Award, UMD/CMNS, 2016
  • Douglas P. Hamilton
  • Marvin Leventhal (emeritus)
    • Fellow, American Physical Society
  • M. Coleman Miller
    • Compton Fellow, NASA, 1994
    • Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching, UMD/CMPS, 2004
  • Lee Mundy
    • Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching, UMD/CMPS, 2000(?)
  • Richard Mushotzky
  • K. (Dennis) Papadopoulos
    • E. O. Hulburt Award for Science, Naval Research Laboratory, 1977
    • Award for Achievement in the Physical Sciences, Washington Academy of Sciences, 1978
    • Fellow, American Physical Society
  • Derek Richardson
    • Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching, UMD/CMNS, 2016
  • Sylvain Veilleux
    • Hubble Fellow, 1992
    • Research Corporation Cottrell Scholar, 1998
    • NSF Early CAREER Award, 1999
    • Humboldt Prize, Humboldt Foundation, 2008
    • Guggenheim Fellow, 2014
  • Stuart Vogel
    • NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, 1987

UM Astronomers in the Sky

The following asteroids have been named by the International Astronomical Union for faculty members and graduates of the department.