Excellence in Mentoring Prize

The Excellence in Mentoring Prize was established by the Department of Astronomy to honor outstanding mentors. All members of the department are eligible; candidates must have worked in the department for two or more years. (Winners are not eligible again for consideration until six years have passed.) Selection is made in May by a committee drawn from the department's diverse membership, and the winner is announced at the department's End of the Year Celebration in June. The selected candidate receives a $500 award.

Nominations for awards can be submitted at any time of the year!

Prize Winners

  • 2022/23: Massimo Ricotti
  • 2021/22: M. Coleman Miller
  • 2020/21: Eliza Kempton
  • 2019/20: Rebecca Levy
  • 2018/19: Derek Richardson
  • 2016/17: L. Drake Deming & Elizabeth Warner
  • 2015/16: Grace Deming
  • 2013/14: A. Surjalal Sharma