Astronomy Department Directory

This is the most recent directory for the Astronomy Department at University of Maryland, College Park.

Links to department and personal webpages are provided if those pages exist. Department members who wish to create their pages may follow these instructions.

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty Lecturers

Adjunct and Visiting Profs Research and Specialized Faculty Postdocs and Faculty Assistants Graduate Students Staff

Student Workers FAX Numbers

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Bolatto, Alberto Professor bolatto@umd.edu PSC 1158 (301) 405-1521  dept page
 personal
Diemer, Benedikt Assistant Professor and CTC Director diemer@umd.edu PSC 1107 (301) 405-2682  dept page
 personal
Earl, James Professor Emeritus jearl@umd.edu  dept page
Hamilton, Douglas Professor dphamil@umd.edu PSC 1153 (301) 405-1548  dept page
Harrington, J. Patrick Professor Emeritus jpha@umd.edu ATL 0249  dept page
 personal
Harris, Andrew Professor and Chair aharris1@umd.edu PSC 1208D (301) 405-7531  dept page
 personal
Hartzell, Christine Affiliate Associate Professor hartzell@umd.edu
Kempton, Eliza Associate Professor and Graduate Director ekempton@umd.edu PSC 1111 (301) 405-3615  dept page
Komacek, Thaddeus Assistant Professor tkomacek@umd.edu PSC 1116 (301) 405-8053  dept page
 personal
Miller, M. Coleman Professor mcmiller@umd.edu PSC 1114 (301) 405-1037  dept page
 personal
Mundy, Lee Professor and LMA Director and CRESST II Director lgm@umd.edu ATL 0203 (301) 405-1529  dept page
 personal
Mushotzky, Richard Professor rmushotz@umd.edu PSC 1154 (301) 405-6853  dept page
Papadopoulos, K. Dennis Professor Emeritus dpapadop@umd.edu  dept page
Reynolds, Chris Professor creynold@umd.edu PSC 1160 (301) 405-6651  dept page
 personal
Richardson, Derek Professor dcr@umd.edu PSC 1112 (301) 405-8786  dept page
 personal
Ricotti, Massimo Professor ricotti@umd.edu PSC 1156 (301) 405-5097  dept page
 personal
Sunshine, Jessica Professor and SBG Director jsunshin@umd.edu ATL 1207F (301) 405-1045  dept page
Veilleux, Sylvain Professor and Optical Director veilleux@umd.edu PSC 1109 (301) 405-0282  dept page
 personal
Vogel, Stuart Professor Emeritus svogel@umd.edu PSC 1164 (301) 405-2134  dept page

Lecturers

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Hayes-Gehrke, Melissa Principal Lecturer and Undergraduate Director/Advisor mhayesge@umd.edu PSC 1208C (301) 405-1562  dept page
 personal
Hunt, James Lecturer jhunt1@umd.edu ATL 1321  dept page
Jones Jr., Marvin Lecturer and Undergraduate Advisor mjones73@umd.edu PSC 1103 (301) 405-5065  dept page

Adjunct and Visiting Professors

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Cenko, Brad Adjunct Professor cenko@umd.edu PSC 1101 (301) 286-4678  dept page
Heap, Sally Adjunct Professor sheap@umd.edu ATL 1223  dept page
Knight, Matthew Adjunct Assistant Professor mknight2@umd.edu ATL 1104  dept page
 personal
Neufeld, David Visiting Professor dneufeld@umd.edu ATL 1223  dept page
Singer, Leo Adjunct Assistant Professor lpsinger@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-5439  dept page
Stiavelli, Massimo Adjunct Professor mstiavel@umd.edu STSCI
Tielens, Alexander Adjunct Professor tielens@umd.edu  dept page
Trimble, Virginia Affiliate Faculty vtrimble@umd.edu  dept page

Research and Specialized Faculty

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Abshire, James Visiting Research Scientist abshirej@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 614-6081
Achterberg, Richard Associate Research Scientist achterbe@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-1550  dept page
Allen, Alice Faculty Specialist ascl@umd.edu ATL 0231 (301) 405-8360  dept page
Antiochos, Spiro Visiting Research Scientist santioch@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Apala, Elizabeth Visiting Faculty Specialist eapala@umd.edu
Arnaud, Keith Associate Research Scientist karnaud@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-5857  dept page
Avanov, Levon Research Engineer lavanov@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-8825  dept page
Barnes, Tilden Senior Faculty Specialist tbarnes4@umd.edu ATL 1255 (301) 405-2081  dept page
Bauer, James Research Professor gerbsb@umd.edu ATL 1245 (301) 405-6218  dept page
Bennett, David Research Scientist bennettd@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-5473  dept page
Bertone, Stefano Visiting Assistant Research Scientist sbertone@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Bessho, Naoki Research Scientist nbessho@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-8751  dept page
Bhattacharya, Aparna Assistant Research Scientist abhatta5@umd.edu NASA GSFC  dept page
Boettcher, Erin Assistant Research Scientist eboettch@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Bonnell, Jerry Senior Faculty Specialist bonnell@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-1579  dept page
Bovill, Mia Visiting Assistant Research Scientist msbovill@umd.edu ATL 0253  dept page
Bower, Dina Associate Research Scientist dbower@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 614-5786  dept page
Buzulukova, Natalia Associate Research Scientist nyb@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-8961
Carr, John Visiting Research Scientist jcarr108@umd.edu ATL 0257  dept page
Chirenti, Cecilia Associate Research Scientist chirenti@umd.edu PSC 1103 (301) 286-4216  dept page
Chornay, Dennis Research Engineer dchornay@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-2588  dept page
Cumbee, Renata Assistant Research Scientist rcumbee@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Dahlin, Joel Assistant Research Scientist jdahlin@umd.edu NASA GSFC (240) 296-2141
Dailey, John Visiting Senior Faculty Specialist dailey@umd.edu  dept page
Darg, Daniel Senior Faculty Specialist ddarg@umd.edu ATL 1257 (301) 405-3733  dept page
 personal
Deming, L. Drake Research Professor ldeming@umd.edu ATL 1315
Eggen, Joe Senior Faculty Specialist jeggen@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-4645  dept page
Farnham, Tony Research Scientist farnham@umd.edu ATL 1207E (301) 405-3856  dept page
 personal
Feaga, Lori Research Professor lfeaga@umd.edu ATL 1207A (301) 405-1383  dept page
Ferrara, Elizabeth Research Scientist eferrara@umd.edu NASA GSFC  dept page
 personal
Fixsen, Dale Research Scientist dfixsen@umd.edu NASA GSFC  dept page
Gamble, Ronald Visiting Assistant Research Scientist rgamble3@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Gicquel-Brodtke, Adeline Senior Faculty Specialist agicquel@umd.edu ATL 1301B (301) 405-1503  dept page
Henning, Wade Assistant Research Scientist whenning@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Hewagama, Tilak Associate Research Scientist tilakh@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-9130  dept page
Hirsch, Benjamin Senior Faculty Specialist bhirsch1@umd.edu ATL 1257 (301) 405-3069  dept page
Honniball, Casey Visiting Assistant Research Scientist chonniba@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Huard, Tracy Associate Research Scientist thuard@umd.edu ATL 0227 (301) 405-2059  dept page
Kalapotharakos, Constantinos Associate Research Scientist ckalapot@umd.edu NASA
Kashlinsky, Alexander Visiting Research Scientist akashlin@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Kazmierczak, Jeanette Senior Faculty Specialist jkazmie1@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-2799  dept page
Kelley, Mike Research Scientist mkelley5@umd.edu ATL 1207B (301) 405-3796  dept page
 personal
Kittrell, DeOndre Visiting Faculty Specialist dkitt@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Knudson, Christine Senior Faculty Specialist knudsonc@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-3526  dept page
Kolokolova, Ludmilla Research Scientist lkolokol@umd.edu ATL 1207D (301) 405-1539  dept page
 personal
Kostov, Veselin Visiting Assistant Research Scientist vkostov@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Kutyrev, Alexander Associate Research Scientist akutyrev@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-2150  dept page
Lawton, Pat Senior Faculty Specialist plawton@umd.edu ATL 1102 (301) 405-2579  dept page
Leskaukas, David Visiting Faculty Specialist dleskaus@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Liang, Haoming Visiting Assistant Research Scientist haoming@umd.edu ATL 0259
Livengood, Tim Associate Research Scientist tlivengo@umd.edu ATL 1319 (301) 286-1552  dept page
Loewenstein, Michael Associate Research Scientist mloewens@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-3615  dept page
Mamoutkine, Andrei Senior Faculty Specialist amamoutk@umd.edu ATL 1246  dept page
Martinez Castellanos, Israel Visiting Assistant Research Scientist imc@umd.edu PSC 2238
Martos Martin, Yasmina Associate Research Scientist ymartosm@umd.edu NASA GSFC  dept page
Mattson, Barb Principal Faculty Specialist mattson@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-1243  dept page
Mernier, Francois Visiting Assistant Research Scientist fmernier@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Michell, Robert Assistant Research Scientist rmichell@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-5959  dept page
Mitchell, Sara Senior Faculty Specialist saram@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-4598  dept page
Moiseev, Alexander Research Scientist amoiseev@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-5581  dept page
Moriarty, Daniel Assistant Research Scientist m0riarty@umd.edu NASA GSFC (401) 258-7926
Neveu, Marc Assistant Research Scientist mneveu@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Ng, Jonathan Assistant Research Scientist jonng@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-1237
Ogorzalek, Anna Visiting Assistant Research Scientist ogoann@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Pound, Marc Research Scientist mpound@umd.edu ATL 0225 (301) 405-1520  dept page
 personal
Pritchard, Tyler Visiting Assistant Research Scientist tylerap@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Ramos-Walker, Kelly Visiting Faculty Specialist kramoswa@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Rauch, Kevin Associate Research Scientist rauch@umd.edu ATL 0213 (301) 405-4967  dept page
 personal
Raugh, Anne Principal Faculty Specialist araugh@umd.edu ATL 1249 (301) 405-6855  dept page
Reddy, Francis Principal Faculty Specialist fjreddy@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-4453  dept page
Richardson, Ian Research Scientist irichard@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-3079  dept page
Romanelli, Norberto Assistant Research Scientist nromanel@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Sage, Leslie Visiting Research Scientist lsage@umd.edu PSC 1101  dept page
 personal
Sankar, Shannon Assistant Research Scientist ssankar@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-8241  dept page
Sasaki, Makoto Associate Research Scientist msasaki@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-0998  dept page
Scheidt, Stephen Visiting Associate Research Scientist scheidt@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Sewilo, Marta Associate Research Scientist mmsewilo@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-5401
Share, Gerald Visiting Research Scientist gshare@umd.edu ATL 1223  dept page
 personal
Sharkey, Benjamin Visiting Senior Faculty Specialist sharkey@umd.edu ATL 1101  dept page
Shaya, Edward Associate Research Scientist eshaya@umd.edu ATL 0247 (301) 405-2040  dept page
 personal
Shkolyar, Svetlana Visiting Assistant Research Scientist sneveu@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Shuster, Jason Assistant Research Scientist shuster@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-8943  dept page
Southard, Adrian Visiting Associate Research Engineer asouthar@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Tan, Lun-Chang Senior Faculty Specialist ltan@umd.edu NASA GSFC  dept page
Teuben, Peter Research Scientist teuben@umd.edu ATL 0223 (301) 405-1540  dept page
 personal
Thorpe, Michael Assistant Research Scientist mtthorpe@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Valencia, Sarah Assistant Research Scientist snvalenc@umd.edu NASA GSFC  dept page
Wadiasingh, Zorawar Visiting Assistant Research Scientist zorawar@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Warner, Elizabeth Principal Faculty Specialist and Observatory Director ewarner@umd.edu ATL 1251 (301) 405-6555  dept page
 personal
Wellnitz, Dennis Principal Faculty Specialist wellnitz@umd.edu ATL 1253 (301) 405-1546  dept page
Whelley, Patrick Associate Research Scientist pwhelley@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 614-5129  dept page
Wolfire, Mark Research Scientist Emeritus mwolfire@umd.edu ATL 0229 (301) 405-1538  dept page
 personal
Ye, Quanzhi Assistant Research Scientist qye@umd.edu ATL 1105 (301) 405-1549  dept page
 personal
Zoghbi, Abdu Associate Research Scientist azoghbi@umd.edu NASA GSFC

Postdocs and Faculty Assistants

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Ahrens, Caitlin Post-Doctoral Associate cahrens@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Andreoni, Igor Post Doctoral Associate-Neil Gehrels Fellow andreoni@umd.edu PSC 1120  dept page
Ballhausen, Ralf Post Doctoral Associate ballhaus@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Beltz, Hayley Post Doctoral Associate hbeltz@umd.edu PSC 1118  dept page
 personal
Bera, Ankita Post Doctoral Associate ankitabm@umd.edu PSC 1105  dept page
Berteaud, Joanna Post Doctoral Associate berteaud@umd.edu NASA  dept page
 personal
Farcy, Benjamin Post Doctoral Associate bfarcy@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Finley, Matthew Post Doctoral Associate mgfinley@umd.edu
Gurram, Harsha Post Doctoral Associate hgurram@umd.edu  dept page
Hankla, Amelia (Lia) Post Doctoral Associate-Neil Gehrels Fellow ahankla@umd.edu PSC 1122  dept page
Hull, Samuel Post Doctoral Associate shull@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Jung, Jaewoong Post-Doctoral Associate jjung11@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Kim, Yaeji Post Doctoral Associate ykim1231@umd.edu ATL 1104  dept page
Kloos, Jacob Post-Doctoral Associate jlkloos@umd.edu ATL 1104  dept page
Kuruppuaratchi, Dona Chathuni Piumika Post Doctoral Associate dkuruppu@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Li, Jialu Post Doctoral Associate jialu@umd.edu ATL 1247  dept page
 personal
Lopez Barquero, Vanessa Post Doctoral Associate vlopezb@umd.edu PSC 1122
Mbarek, Rostom Post Doctoral Associate-Neil Gehrels Fellow rmbarek@umd.edu PSC 1120  dept page
Nixon, Matthew Post Doctoral Associate mcnixon@umd.edu PSC 1105  dept page
Olmschenk, Gregory Post Doctoral Associate golmsche@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Renaud, Joe Post-Doctoral Associate jrenaud@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Rice, Rachel Post-Doctoral Associate rcrice@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Schanche, Nicole Post-Doctoral Associate nschanch@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Terry, Sean Post-Doctoral Associate skterry@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Uy, Alan Post Doctoral Associate aluy@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Vandorou, Aikaterini Post Doctoral Associate katievan@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Vega, Laura Post Doctoral Associate ldvega@umd.edu NASA
Welch, Brian Post-Doctoral Associate bwelch13@umd.edu NASA GSFC
Wright, Esteban Post Doctoral Associate ewrigh10@umd.edu PSC 1120  dept page

Graduate Students

Last, First Title Advisor E-mail Room Phone Website
Allee-Press, Lacey Graduate Student laceyap@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
Biancalani, Enrico Graduate Student ebian@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Bogat, Ell Graduate Student Komacek ebogat@umd.edu ATL 1229  dept page
Broadmeadow, Amanda Graduate Student Mundy abroadme@umd.edu ATL 1239  dept page
Cronin, Serena Graduate Student Bolatto cronin@umd.edu ATL 1229  dept page
 personal
Dan, Kylie Graduate Student kydan@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Davenport, Brian Graduate Student bdav@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
DeMartini, Joseph Graduate Student Richardson jdema@umd.edu ATL 1227  dept page
Ding, Keyi Graduate Student kyding@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Dittmann, Alexander Graduate Student Miller dittmann@umd.edu ATL 1235  dept page
 personal
Donaghue, Keaton Graduate Student kdonaghu@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Ealy, Jordan Graduate Student Komacek jealy@umd.edu ATL 1237  dept page
Fromont, Emeline Graduate Student Komacek efromont@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
Grell, Gabriel Graduate Student Mushotzky ggrell@umd.edu ATL 1227  dept page
Gursahani, Yash Graduate Student yashag@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Guzman Caloca, Giannina Graduate Student Kempton gguzmanc@umd.edu ATL 1237  dept page
Hammerstein, Erica Graduate Student Veilleux ekhammer@umd.edu ATL 1227  dept page
Hobson-Ritz, Marshall Graduate Student mhobritz@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Hoffman, Erika Graduate Student Reynolds ebhoff@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Holt, Isiah Graduate Student Miller imholt@umd.edu ATL 1241  dept page
Hood, Maximus Graduate mxhood@umd.edu PSC
Ih, Jegug Graduate Student Kempton jegugih@umd.edu ATL 1231  dept page
Jarrett, Shaniya Graduate Student shaniya@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Karim, Ramsey Graduate Student Mundy rlkarim@umd.edu PSC 1239  dept page
 personal
Kocjan, Zuzanna Graduate Student zkocjan@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Lastovka, Matthew Graduate Student mlastovk@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Leidig, Katya Graduate Student Diemer kleidig@umd.edu ATL 1229  dept page
Mirizio, Emma Graduate Student Richardson emirizio@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Osinga, Calvin Graduate Student Diemer cosinga@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
 personal
Park, Jongwon Graduate Student Ricotti jwpark@umd.edu ATL 1241  dept page
 personal
Reisner, Charles Graduate Student creisner@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Robbins, Sophie Graduate Student srobbin7@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Savel, Arjun Graduate Student Kempton asavel@umd.edu ATL 1231  dept page
 personal
Seebeck, Jerome Graduate Student jseebeck@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Smith, Cole Graduate Student csmit103@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Solanki, Siddhant Graduate Student Reynolds siddhant@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Somers, R. Sander Graduate Student rssomers@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
Srinivasaragavan, Gokul Graduate Student Miller gsriniv2@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Ugalino, Mark Graduate Student ugalino@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
 personal
Volpert, Carrie Graduate Student Bolatto cvolpert@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Washington, Antoine Graduate Student Sunshine antojr@umd.edu ATL 1239  dept page
Williams, Jonathan Graduate Student Mushotzky jonvwill@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
 personal
Yates, Eric Graduate Student eayates@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page

Staff

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Callahan, Emily Business Manager ecallaha@umd.edu PSC 1121 (301) 405-3177  dept page
Cheyne, Leland CRESST II Program Manager lcheyne@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-9563  dept page
Cullinan, John Business and Administrative Coordinator jcullina@umd.edu PSC 1117 (301) 405-1542  dept page
Dent, Olivia Associate Director of Faculty and Graduate Affairs odent@umd.edu PSC 1208F (301) 405-1512  dept page
Hansborough, Barbara Coordinator barbarah@umd.edu PSC 1208 (301) 405-1508  dept page
Harrison, Erica CRESST II Manager ebenton1@umd.edu NASA GSFC (301) 286-8370  dept page
Kimbrell, Dorinda Director of Finance dkimbrel@umd.edu PSC 1125 (301) 405-1511  dept page
Lehr, Susan Coordinator of Business Services slehr@umd.edu PSC 1115 (301) 405-1507  dept page
 personal
Miles, Lauren Academic Program Specialist Lmiles14@umd.edu PSC 1208E (301) 405-1505  dept page
Rauch, Kevin Associate Research Scientist rauch@umd.edu ATL 0213 (301) 405-4967  dept page
 personal
Rowe, Natalie Business Manager narowe@umd.edu PSC 1119 (301) 405-1560  dept page
Susanto, Y. Mona Business Manager ysusanto@umd.edu PSC 1123 (301) 405-6882  dept page
Vaidya, Varada CRESST II Coordinator vvaidya@umd.edu NASA GSFC  dept page

Student Workers

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone
Bansal, Aniruddh Teaching Assistant ani01@umd.edu ATL 1351
Blaufuss, Sarah Teaching Assistant sblaufus@umd.edu ATL 1245
Cottingham, Julia Teaching Assistant jcottin1@umd.edu ATL 1245
Dai, Haoying Teaching Assistant dhy@umd.edu ATL 1351
Fabbri, Anthony Teaching Assistant aefabbri@umd.edu ATL 1319
Goldenberg-Hart, Aidan Teaching Assistant agoldenb@umd.edu ATL 1245
Guerrero Rivera, Katherine Student Office Assistant kguerriv@terpmail.umd.edu PSC 1208 B (301) 405-4505
Kaluzienski, Brooke Teaching Assistant bkaluzie@umd.edu ATL 1243
Kanaparthy, Yugadeep Teaching Assistant ykanapar@umd.edu ATL 1243
Manolidou Chatzi, Evgenia Jane Teaching Assistant emanolid@umd.edu ATL 1317
Mekonnen, Nardos Teaching Assistant nmekonn2@umd.edu ATL 1243
O'Connor, Brendan Teaching Assistant boconno7@umd.edu ATL 1245
Oruitemeka, Joyce Student Worker joruitem@terpmail.umd.edu PSC 1208B (301) 405-4505
Perez, Yesenia Student Office Assistant yperez17@terpmail.umd.edu PSC 1208 B (301) 405-4505
Robbins, Joshua Teaching Assistant jrobbin1@umd.edu ATL 1243
Shockley, Steven Teaching Assistant sshockle@umd.edu ATL 1243
Suresh, Hannah Teaching Assistant hsuresh1@umd.edu ATL 1243
Wu, Wenxi Teaching Assistant wenxi523@umd.edu ATL 1243

FAX Numbers

Location Room FAX
Mail Room Fax PSC 1113 (301) 314-9067

Phone database revision date: 2024-6-17
This page was automatically updated on 18-Jun-2024.
webmaster@astro.umd.edu