Astronomy Department Directory

This is the most recent directory for the Astronomy Department at University of Maryland, College Park.

Links to department and personal webpages are provided if those pages exist. Department members who wish to create their pages may follow these instructions.

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty Lecturers

Adjunct and Visiting Profs Research and Specialized Faculty Postdocs and Faculty Assistants Graduate Students Staff

Student Workers FAX Numbers

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Bolatto, AlbertoProfessorbolatto@umd.eduPSC 1158(301) 405-1521 dept page
 personal
Diemer, BenediktAssistant Professordiemer@umd.eduPSC 1107(301) 405-2682 dept page
 personal
Drake, JimDistinguished University Professor-Physicsdrake@umd.edu (301) 405-1471
Earl, JamesProfessor Emeritus  dept page
Gezari, SuviAssociate Professor-on leavesuvi@umd.eduPSC  dept page
Hamilton, DouglasProfessordphamil@umd.eduPSC 1153(301) 405-1548 dept page
Harrington, J. PatrickProfessor Emeritusjpha@umd.eduATL 0249 dept page
 personal
Harris, AndrewProfessor and Chairaharris1@umd.eduPSC 1208D(301) 405-7531 dept page
 personal
Kempton, ElizaAssociate Professor and CTC Directorekempton@umd.eduPSC 1111(301) 405-3615 dept page
Komacek, ThaddeusAssistant Professortkomacek@umd.eduPSC 1116(301) 405-8053 dept page
 personal
Miller, M. ColemanProfessor and Graduate Advisormcmiller@umd.eduPSC 1114(301) 405-1037 dept page
 personal
Mundy, LeeProfessor and LMA Director and CRESST Directorlgm@umd.eduATL 0203(301) 405-1529 dept page
 personal
Mushotzky, RichardProfessorrmushotz@umd.eduPSC 1154(301) 405-6853 dept page
Papadopoulos, K. DennisProfessor Emeritusdpapadop@umd.eduATL 2307(301) 405-1526 dept page
Richardson, DerekProfessordcr@umd.eduPSC 1112(301) 405-8786 dept page
 personal
Ricotti, MassimoProfessorricotti@umd.eduPSC 1156(301) 405-5097 dept page
 personal
Sunshine, JessicaProfessor and SBG Directorjsunshin@umd.eduATL 1207F(301) 405-1045 dept page
Veilleux, SylvainProfessor and Optical Directorveilleux@umd.eduPSC 1109(301) 405-0282 dept page
 personal
Vogel, StuartProfessorsvogel@umd.eduPSC 1164(301) 405-2134 dept page

Lecturers

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Hayes-Gehrke, MelissaPrincipal Lecturer and Undergraduate Director/Advisormhayesge@umd.eduPSC 1208C(301) 405-1562 dept page
 personal
Hunt, JamesLecturerjhunt1@umd.eduATL 1321
Peel, AlanSenior Lecturerapeel@umd.eduATL 1247(301) 405-6647 dept page
Sharma, SurjalalPrincipal Research Scientistssh@umd.eduATL 2319(301) 405-1528 dept page
Thomson, ErinLectureremt211@umd.eduCEN 1217

Adjunct and Visiting Professors

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Cenko, BradAdjunct Associate Professorcenko@umd.eduATL 1223(301) 286-4678 dept page
Heap, SallyAdjunct Professorsheap@umd.eduATL 1223
Knight, MatthewAdjunct Assistant Professormknight2@umd.eduATL 1104(301) 405-2629 dept page
 personal
Neufeld, DavidVisiting Professorneufeld@jhu.eduATL 1223 dept page
Reynolds, ChrisCollege Park Professorcreynold@umd.edu dept page
 personal
Singer, LeoAdjunct Assistant Professorlpsinger@umd.eduPSC 1103(301) 286-5439 dept page
Tielens, AlexanderAdjunct Professortielens@umd.edu dept page
Trimble, VirginiaAffiliate Facultyvtrimble@umd.edu  dept page

Research and Specialized Faculty

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Abshire, JamesVisiting Principal Research Scientistabshirej@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 614-6081
Achterberg, RichardAssociate Research Scientistachterbe@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-1550 dept page
Allen, AliceFaculty Specialistascl@umd.eduATL 0231(301) 405-8360 dept page
Arnaud, KeithAssociate Research Scientistkarnaud@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-5857 dept page
Avanov, LevonPrincipal Research Engineerlavanov@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-8825 dept page
Barnes, TildenSenior Faculty Specialisttbarnes4@umd.eduATL 1255(301) 405-2081 dept page
Bauer, JamesResearch Professorgerbsb@umd.eduATL 1245(301) 405-6218 dept page
Bennett, DavidPrincipal Research Scientistbennettd@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-5473 dept page
Bessho, NaokiAssociate Research Scientistnbessho@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-8751 dept page
Bhattacharya, AparnaAssistant Research Scientistabhatta5@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Bonnell, JerrySenior Faculty Specialistbonnell@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-1579 dept page
Bower, DinaAssistant Research Scientistdbower@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 614-5786 dept page
Boyd, PatriciaVisiting Principal Research Scientistpadiboyd@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-2550 dept page
Bult, PeterVisiting Assistant Research Scientistpbult@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Buzulukova, NataliaAssociate Research ScientistnbuzulukovaATL 0253(301) 286-8961
Carr, JohnVisiting Principal Research Scientistjcarr108@umd.edu (301) 935-0171 dept page
Chirenti, CeciliaAssociate Research Scientistchirenti@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-4216
Choi, Seung HoVisiting Assistant Research Scientistschoi110@umd.eduATL 1319
Chornay, DennisPrincipal Research Engineerdchornay@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-2588 dept page
Darg, DanielSenior Faculty Specialistddarg@umd.eduATL 1257(301) 405-3733
Deming, L. DrakeResearch Professorldeming@umd.eduPSC 1118
Deming, L. DrakeResearch Professorldeming@umd.eduPSC  dept page
Eggen, JoeVisiting Senior Faculty Specialistjeggen@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-4645 dept page
Elrod, MeredithAssistant Research Engineerkepera@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-5621 dept page
Eyermann, SarahSenior Faculty Specialisteyermann@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-7412 dept page
Farnham, TonyPrincipal Research Scientistfarnham@umd.eduATL 1207E(301) 405-3856 dept page
 personal
Feaga, LoriAssociate Research Scientistlfeaga@umd.eduATL 1207A(301) 405-1383 dept page
Ferrara, ElizabethAssociate Research Scientisteferrara@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Fixsen, DaleResearch Scientistdfixsen@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Gicquel-Brodtke, AdelineSenior Faculty Specialistagicquel@umd.eduATL 1301B(301) 405-1503 dept page
Golla, ThejappaAssociate Research Scientistthejappa@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-3390
Hewagama, TilakAssociate Research Scientisttilakh@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-9130 dept page
Hirsch, BenjaminFaculty Specialistbhirsch1@umd.eduATL 1257(301) 405-3069 dept page
Huard, TracyAssociate Research Scientistthuard@umd.eduATL 0227(301) 405-2059 dept page
Hwang, UnaVisiting Assistant Research Scientistuhwang@umd.edu (253) 970-9916
Kalapotharakos, ConstantinosAssociate Research Scientistckalapot@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Kao, Der-YouVisiting Assistant Research Scientistdkao@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 614-6245
Kazmierczak, JeanetteFaculty Specialistjkazmie1@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-2799 dept page
Kelley, MikeAssociate Research Scientistmkelley5@umd.eduATL 1207B(301) 405-3796 dept page
 personal
Khayat, AlainAssistant Research Scientistalaink@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 614-5420 dept page
Knudson, ChristineSenior Faculty Specialistknudsonc@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-3526 dept page
Kolokolova, LudmillaPrincipal Research Scientistlkolokol@umd.eduATL 1207D(301) 405-1539 dept page
 personal
Kutyrev, AlexanderAssociate Research Scientistakutyrev@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-2150 dept page
Lawton, PatSenior Faculty Specialistplawton@umd.eduATL 1102(301) 405-2579 dept page
Liu, Tung-ChangAssistant Research Scientisttcliu@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Livengood, TimAssociate Research Scientisttlivengo@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-1552 dept page
Loewenstein, MichaelAssociate Research Scientistmloewens@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-3615 dept page
Mamoutkine, AndreiSenior Faculty Specialistamamoutk@umd.eduATL 1246 dept page
Martos Martin, YasminaAssistant Research Scientistymartosm@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Mattson, BarbPrincipal Faculty Specialistmattson@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-1243 dept page
McConnochie, TimAssistant Research Scientisttmcconno@umd.edu GSFC(607) 351-1845 dept page
Michell, RobertAssistant Research Scientistrmichell@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-5959 dept page
Milikh, GennadyResearch Scientist Emeritusmilikh@umd.eduATL 1315(301) 405-1558 dept page
Mitchell, SaraSenior Faculty Specialistsaram@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-4598 dept page
Moiseev, AlexanderPrincipal Research Scientistamoiseev@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-5581 dept page
Moriarty, DanielVisiting Assistant Research Scientistm0riarty@umd.eduNASA GSFC(401) 258-7926
Nagdimunov, LevFaculty Specialistlnagdi1@umd.edu  dept page
Neveu, MarcAssistant Research Scientistmneveu@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Olling, RobertVisiting Assistant Research Scientistrolling@umd.eduATL 0251 dept page
 personal
Pound, MarcPrincipal Research Scientistmpound@umd.eduATL 0225(301) 405-1520 dept page
 personal
Rauch, KevinAssistant Research Engineerrauch@umd.eduATL 0213(301) 405-4967 dept page
Raugh, AnnePrincipal Faculty Specialistaraugh@umd.eduATL 1249(301) 405-6855 dept page
Reddy, FrancisPrincipal Faculty Specialistfjreddy@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-4453 dept page
Rhoads, JamesVisiting Research Professorjrhoads1@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-0545 dept page
Richardson, IanResearch Scientistirichard@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-3079 dept page
Richardson, JacobAssistant Research Scientistjacob.a.richardson@nasa.govNASA GSFC dept page
Sage, LeslieVisiting Principal Research Scientistlsage@umd.eduPSC 1101 dept page
 personal
Samuelson, RobertPrincipal Faculty SpecialistrsamuelsonNASA GSFC(301) 286-5978
Sankar, ShannonAssistant Research Scientistssankar@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-8241 dept page
Sasaki, MakotoAssociate Research Scientistmsasaki@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-0998 dept page
Saxena, PrabalAssistant Research Scientistpsaxena1@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Segura, MarciaPrincipal Faculty Specialistmsegura@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-6805 dept page
Sewilo, MartaAssociate Research Scientistmmsewilo@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-5401
Share, GeraldVisiting Principal Research Scientistgshare@umd.eduATL 1243 dept page
 personal
Sharma, SurjalalPrincipal Research Scientistssh@umd.eduATL 2319(301) 405-1528 dept page
Shaya, EdwardAssociate Research Scientisteshaya@umd.eduATL 0247(301) 405-2040 dept page
 personal
Shuster, JasonAssistant Research Scientistshuster@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-8943 dept page
Soong, YangPrincipal Research Scientistysoong1@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-6318 dept page
Tan, Lun-ChangSenior Faculty Specialistltan@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Teuben, PeterPrincipal Research Scientistteuben@umd.eduATL 0223(301) 405-1540 dept page
 personal
Tombesi, FrancescoAssistant Research Scientistftombesi@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
 personal
Troja, NoraAssociate Research Scientisteleonora@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-0941
Wang, ShanAssistant Research Scientistswang90@umd.eduPSC 1122(301) 352-4676 dept page
Warner, ElizabethPrincipal Faculty Specialist and Observatory Directorewarner@umd.eduATL 1251(301) 405-6555 dept page
 personal
Wellnitz, DennisPrincipal Faculty Specialistwellnitz@umd.eduATL 1253(301) 405-1546 dept page
Whelley, PatrickAssistant Research Scientistpwhelley@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 614-5129 dept page
Wolfire, MarkPrincipal Research Scientist and Computer Hardware Managermwolfire@umd.eduATL 0229(301) 405-1538 dept page
 personal
Yates, EricVisiting Faculty Specialisteayates@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Ye, QuanzhiAssistant Research Scientistqye@umd.eduATL 1105(301) 405-1549 dept page
 personal
Zoghbi, AbduVisiting Associate Research Scientistazoghbi@umd.eduNASA GSFC

Postdocs and Faculty Assistants

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Andreoni, IgorPost Doctoral Associate-Neil Gehrels Fellowandreoni@umd.eduPSC 1120 dept page
Bastelberger, SandraPost-Doctoral Associatebasandra@umd.eduPSC 1118 dept page
Bialy, ShmuelPost Doctoral Associatesbialy@umd.eduPSC 1105 dept page
Cumbee, RenataPost Doctoral-Associatercumbee@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Dahlin, JoelPost-Doctoral Associatejdahlin@umd.eduNASA GSFC(240) 296-2141
Guepin, ClairePost Doctoral Associate (Neil Gehrels Fellow)cguepin@umd.eduPSC 1120
Hirao, YukiFaculty Assistanthirao@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Hogg, J. DrewPost-Doctoral Associatedrewhogg@umd.eduATL 0245 dept page
 personal
Kloos, JacobPost Doctoral Associatejlkloos@umd.eduATL 1104 dept page
Koshimoto, NaokiPost-Doctoral Associatenkoshimo@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Malik, MatejPost-Doctoral Associatemalik@umd.eduPSC 1105 dept page
Martinez Castellanos, IsraelPost Doctoral Associateimc@umd.eduPSC 2238
Ng, JonathanPost Doctoral Associatejonng@umd.eduNASA GSFC(301) 286-1237
O'Connor, BrendanFaculty Assistantoconnorb@umd.eduNASA GSFC
Ogorzalek, AnnaPost Doctoral Associateogoann@umd.eduNASA GSFC(650) 656-3713
Picquenot, AdrienPost Doctoral Associateapp46.pr@gmail.comATL 1349
Rizos, JuanPost Doctoral Associatejuanluisrizos@gmail.comATL 1101
Tiwari, MaitraiyeePost Doctoral Associatemtiwari@umd.eduATL 0207(301) 405-9896 dept page
Valencia, SarahPost-Doctoral Associatesnvalenc@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Vega, LauraPost Doctoral Associateldvega@umd.eduNASA
Williams, RossPost-Doctoral Associaterosshw@umd.eduNASA GSFC dept page
Woodward, DerekFaculty Assistantdwoodwa2@umd.edu(301) 605-5944

Graduate Students

Last, First Title Advisor E-mail Room Phone Website
Agrusa, Harrison Graduate Student Richardson hagrusa@umd.edu ATL 1239  dept page
 personal
Ahumada-Mena, Tomas Graduate Student Veilleux tahumada@umd.edu ATL 1227  dept page
 personal
Blain, Michaela Graduate Student Sunshine mblain@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Bogat, Ell Graduate Student ebogat@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Broadmeadow, Amanda Graduate Student abroadme@umd.edu PSC 1238
Crnogorcevic, Milena Graduate Student Ricotti mcrnogor@umd.edu ATL 1259  dept page
 personal
Cronin, Serena Graduate Student cronin@umd.edu PSC 1238
Cunningham, Virginia Graduate Student Vogel vcunning@umd.edu  dept page
 personal
DeMartini, Joseph Graduate Student Richardson jdema@umd.edu ATL 1239  dept page
Dittmann, Alexander Graduate Student Miller dittmann@umd.edu ATL 1235  dept page
 personal
Ealy, Jordan Graduate Student Miller jealy@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Frederick, Sara Graduate Student Mushotzky sfreder2@umd.edu  dept page
 personal
Fu, Guangwei Graduate Student Deming starlord@umd.edu ATL 1241  dept page
Grell, Gabriel Graduate Student Mushotzky ggrell@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Guzman Caloca, Giannina Graduate Student Miller gguzmanc@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
Hammerstein, Erica Graduate Student Veilleux ekhammer@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
Hartley, Blake Graduate Student Ricotti bth@umd.edu ATL 1241  dept page
He, Chongchong Graduate Student Ricotti che1234@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
 personal
Hoffman, Erika Graduate Student ebhoff@umd.edu PSC 1260
Holt, Carrie Graduate Student Richardson cholt1@umd.edu ATL 1227  dept page
 personal
Holt, Isiah Graduate Student Miller imholt@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
Hord, Benjamin Graduate Student Kempton benhord@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Ih, Jegug Graduate Student Kempton jegugih@umd.edu ATL 1349  dept page
Karim, Ramsey Graduate Student Mundy rlkarim@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
 personal
Leidig, Katya Graduate Student Miller kleidig@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Lenkic, Laura Graduate Student Bolatto llenkic@umd.edu ATL 1351  dept page
 personal
Levy, Rebecca Graduate Student Bolatto rlevy@umd.edu ATL 1227  dept page
 personal
Li, Jialu Graduate Student Harris jialu@umd.edu ATL 1237  dept page
Liu, Weizhe Graduate Student Veilleux wliu1234@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
 personal
Marohnic, Julian Graduate Student Richardson jmarohni@umd.edu ATL 1259  dept page
Mirizio, Emma Graduate Student emirizio@umd.edu PSC
Mundo-Santiago, Sergio Graduate Student Mushotzky samundo@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
Osinga, Calvin Graduate Student Diemer cosinga@umd.edu PSC 1238 (301) 405-3001  dept page
Park, Jongwon Graduate Student Ricotti jwpark@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
 personal
Savel, Arjun Graduate Student Kempton asavel@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
 personal
Smith, Robyn Graduate Student Veilleux rnsmith@umd.edu ATL 1235  dept page
Srinivasaragavan, Gokul Graduate Student gsriniv2@umd.edu PSC 1248
Tarantino, Elizabeth Graduate Student Bolatto ejtino@umd.edu ATL 1231  dept page
Teal, D. Graduate Student dteal@umd.edu PSC 1260  dept page
 personal
Villanueva Llanos, Vicente Graduate Student Bolatto vvillanu@umd.edu ATL 1349  dept page
Volpert, Carrie Graduate Student Bolatto cvolpert@umd.edu PSC 1248  dept page
Ward, Charlotte Graduate Student Miller cwar4677@umd.edu PSC 1238  dept page
Washington, Antoine Graduate Student Miller antojr@umd.edu PSC  dept page
Williams, Jonathan Graduate Student Mushotzky jonvwill@umd.edu ATL 1235  dept page
 personal

Staff

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone Website
Callahan, EmilyResearch Coordinatorecallaha@umd.eduPSC 1121(301) 405-3177
Cheyne, LelandCRESST II Program Managerleland.cheyne@nasa.govNASA GSFC(301) 286-9563
Cullinan, JohnBusiness and Administrative Coordinatorjcullina@umd.eduPSC 1117(301) 405-1542 dept page
Dent, OliviaAssociate Director of Faculty and Graduate Affairsodent@umd.eduPSC 1208F(301) 405-1512 dept page
Hansborough, BarbaraCoordinatorbarbarah@umd.eduPSC 1208(301) 405-1508 dept page
Harrison, EricaManagererica.n.benton@nasa.govNASA GSFC(301) 286-8370
Kimbrell, DorindaDirector of Administrative Servicesdkimbrel@umd.eduPSC 1125(301) 405-1511 dept page
Lehr, SusanCoordinator of Business Servicesslehr@umd.eduPSC 1115(301) 405-1507 dept page
 personal
Rauch, KevinAssistant Research Engineerrauch@umd.eduATL 0213(301) 405-4967 dept page
Rowe, NatalieBusiness Managernarowe@umd.eduPSC 1119(301) 405-1560 dept page
Susanto, Y. MonaBusiness Managerysusanto@umd.eduPSC 1123(301) 405-6882 dept page
Wolfire, MarkPrincipal Research Scientist and Computer Hardware Managermwolfire@umd.eduATL 0229(301) 405-1538 dept page
 personal

Student Workers

Last, First Title E-mail Room Phone
Benitez, ErnestoTeaching Assistantebenite1@terpmail.umd.eduATL 1243
Futrowsky, KateTeaching Assistantkfutrows@umd.eduATL 1243
Guiffreda, OrionTeaching Assistantoriogui@terpmail.umd.eduATL 1243
Milad, JenniferStudent Workerjennifermilad7@gmail.comPSC 1208B
Rotman, YoavTeaching Assistantyrotman@terpmail.umd.eduATL 1243
Stapleton, DanielTeaching Assistantdstaple@terpmail.umd.eduATL 1243
Tadesse, SolomeStudent Workerstadess1@umd.eduPSC 1208B
Wroblewski, AngelaTeaching Assistantawroblew@terpmail.umd.eduATL 1243
Zipparo, SophiaTeaching Assistantszipparo@terpmail.umd.eduATL 1243(301) 405-3001

FAX Numbers

Location Room FAX
Mail Room FaxPSC 1113(301) 314-9067

Phone database revision date: 2021-11-19
This page was automatically updated on 27-Nov-2021.
webmaster@astro.umd.edu