Distinguished Faculty Teaching Prize

The Distinguished Faculty Teaching Prize was established by the Department of Astronomy to honor outstanding faculty educators. All faculty ranks are eligible; candidates must have worked in the department for two or more years. (Winners are not eligible again for consideration until six years have passed.) Selection is made in May by a committee drawn from the department's diverse membership, and the winner is announced at the department's End of the Year Celebration in June. The selected candidate receives a $500 award.

Nominations for awards can be submitted at any time of the year!

Prize Winners

  • 2022/23: Cole Miller
  • 2021/22: Chris Hunt & Eliza Kempton
  • 2020/21: Benedikt Diemer
  • 2017/18: Massimo Ricotti
  • 2016/17: Cole Miller
  • 2015/16: Derek Richardson
  • 2013/14: Melissa Hayes-Gehrke
  • 2012/13: Andrew Harris