Prizes Awarded by COSPAR, the COmmittee on SPAce Research

This list is a list of prizes awarded by COSPAR for which astronomers are likely to be eligible. Some recent astronomers who have won the prize are listed also. More details are available on the COSPAR web pages.


  • COSPAR Space science award. for outstanding contributions to space science. Winners in 2000 - Roger Bonnet and Don Hunten.
  • International Cooperation Award. For significant contributions to international cooperation in space science.
  • Nordberg Medal. For distinguished contributions to the application of space science.
  • Zeldovich Medal (Jointly with the Russian Academy of Science). One medal annually from each scientific commission. Winner for Commission BB in 2000 - Roland Meier (former UMD post-doc).